Elder Austin Fullmer – Annaberg-Buchholz

Hallo,

Well guys, I am officially not in Bergedorf / Hamburg any more. I can’t believe that my last email actually was written in Bergedorf. I feel like I have been in Annaberg for a long time already. The city of Annaberg-Buchholz is beautiful. We are right next to the Czech Republic in the Mountains. It pretty much went down like this: some German a thousand years ago was hiking through the mountains and thought to himself this mountain top is pretty…. let’s build a city right here on top. I think it is beautiful. It is a quite a change from Bergedorf. Hamburg is really just a German version of NYC or Chicago. Annaberg has a population of about 22,000 while Begedorf itself has about 222,000. The Annaberg area is also about three or four times the size of the Bergedorf area.

The Ward here is awesome. It is a really big Ward for how small the population is. We have about 80 to 100 active members every Sunday. That is way bigger than the Ward in Bergedorf where we had about 40 people each Sunday. Elder Van Miltenburg and I sing in the choir here. And this Saturday the Ward Choir is singing at the opening of the Weinachts Markt, the Christmas Mart. I am way excited about it, but also way nervous. Sister Richter the Choir director was sort of really, really excited when she heard Elder Van Miltenburg and I singing before choir practice. She promptly declared that is was wonderful that she had two missionaries that could sing and gave us to duets to sing at the performance. Meine Gute. We are singing Jingle Bells and The First Noel. It is this Saturday. I will let you know how it goes.

So this week is Thanksgiving, I think. I think it is the third Thursday in November. No one here celebrates Thanksgiving. It is way American. So my district is celebrating it today. I have a small district again. Only four elders ( side note: Elder Stovall one of my MTC Companions is in my district. Way Cool). After this Elder Van Miltenburg and I are going to go buy food and then we are all going to cook it together. I would like to take a moment to think about the things that I am grateful for. 1. I am a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. 2. I get to spend Christmas in Annaberg, Germany. 3. I have an awesome family that loves me. 4. I have amazing friends all over the county (Connecticut, New Mexico, Massachusetts, Utah and Michigan to name just a few). 5. I was privileged to attend the USCGA for two years. 6. I have an awesome ward and stake president in both Connecticut and Michigan. 7. I am starting to understand German better. 8. Prayer is real.

The pictures. The first one is of me in the Harbor in Hamburg. You might think me a nerd, but I say that Buoy and I thought, ‘oh my goodness I buoy. I want to be an a buoytender some day.’ so… I took a picture with the German buoy. The second is of me and me last companion. I finally got him to take a picture with me. I think you can tell that Elder Guthrie does not like taking pictures with me. The third picture is of my new desk in Annaberg.

Also I the address I gave you was sort of wrong. I talked with Elder Van Miltenburg over the phone to get it and I heard him wrong. I accidentally wrote E instead of B in the street name. Also there are no dashes. So here is the correct address:

 

Elder Austin Fullmer

Karlsbader Strasse 25

09456 Annaberg-Buchholz.

 

If you already sent something it will probably get to me anyways.

You guys are awesome. Good luck this week and for you all at the Academy: two day ’til Thanksgiving break. You made it.

Peace,

tschüß,

Love,

Elder Austin Arthur Fullmer

elderfullmer.wordpress.com

mormon.org


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

