Elder Austin Fullmer – Survivor

Guten Abend,

This week was pretty uneventful. A lot of our appointments fell out this week. I am not really sure why. I am not sure if the word uneventful would actually be accurate. It certainly was busy, or felt that way at least. We have awesome Missionary Leadership in the Hamburg Zone. I love our Zone Leaders, Elder Tanner and Elder Walter. They are both awesome guys. Anyways, they and the three district leaders came up with the idea of having a ‘Survivor Hamburg Edition’ – basically that translates into us having a different ‘challenge’ every week. This past week the challenge was to do as many doors as possible. So Elder Guthrie and I knocked on the doors of 673 doors. I can decided if that is a lot or not. Our goal was a 1,000, but doing 673 doors was quite the challenge. The thing is that we didn’t make out a single appointment. Weird. But, you know, our message has a lot to do with what is called Entscheidungsfreiheit – Germany for Free Agency. We share the message and people have to choose whether or not they want to hear.

The lesson we did have with investigators was awesome. I really felt the spirit testify through me. This family – a mother and a son – believe in God, but they had never thought that we lived with him before this life. It was really cool to help them to understand where we came from. My companion and I continued this theme, topic, with the member lessons that we had. We talked to everyone this week about Romans 8: 16-17. ”16 The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God. 17 And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ…” I know this is true. The spirit has borne witness to my spirit that we are the children of God. Regardless of what religion you are, will you think about people as if they were your brothers and sisters, because they are. This world would be full of so much less hate if we all just saw each others as brothers and sisters.

Preparation day was way fun today. The reason that this email will probably get to you later than normal is that I am writing it at the end of my P-day, when normally I write it earlier in the morning. We had a Zone P-day in Hamburg Proper. We went up to a church building there and a bunch of Elder were there. People played basketball, football, and we got a grill out and some charcoal. It was pretty sweet.

Meine Gute, My Goodness, it is dark here. We just had daylight savings time here on Saturday. They move the clocks back and hour like we do. Except now it gets dark 5PM. Yup, it is dark by 5PM and pretty much pitch black by 6PM. It gets light about seven in the morning though. I think that it why they still more the time. Most German kids go to school by 7 and get out by noon or one in the afternoon. I didn’t get out of high school until like 4PM so this whole getting dark at five thing wouldn’t have flown down in New Mexico.

Well, love you all. I hope that your weeks are great. I pray for you. Hopefully this week see a little bit more success. I have the hope!

Love,

tschüß,

peace,

 

Elder Austin Arthur Fullmer

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

