Elder Austin Fullmer – “Preach My Gospel” Missionaries

Dad, Mom, and Family!

I love you all so much!

This week have been awesome! I very good one if I do say so myself. On Wednesday marks our fifth week of being at the MTC….. and in four weeks from Today I will be flying over the Atlantic Ocean towards Germany. Crazy. I still really like everyone at the MTC. My companionship is still getting along well. Sometimes we get a little annoyed with each other, but I guess that is to be expected. In fact last night at a devotional we heard from Brother Allen, the head of the missionary department in SLC (If the name sounds familiar, he was the first person that we heard at our first Sunday night devotional). Anyways Brother Allen talked to use of the stages of the MTC (or he said companionship relations, new areas…). 1. Honeymoon 2. Hostile 3. Grin and Bear it. 4. Endure to the end. It was a way cool talk about how we can deal with conflicting emotions. This place is like a rollercoaster. You feel really happy with your successes and then quite sad with your mistakes.

German is coming a long well. I finally feel confident enough to not take written notes into our lessons. Which is really good! I try not to compare myself to other people’s German capabilities. Just compare myself to my own progress. We also started to teach each other. The sister missionaries in my District (Sister Shaerr and Sister Openshaw) teach the dritt and we teach them. There investigator names are Serina and Katrin. They are sisters who own a clothing store in Germany. They both believe in God, but are having a hard time understanding Jesus Christ and the Atonement. For the Sisters, my companionship is three roommates all going to University. My name is Nataniel and the others are Matt and Gustav. It is interesting to teach more than one person at a time. We all have different ideas about religion and God. For example Nataniel is a Protestant who understand a lot, while Elder Burnett is acting as Gustave, who is an Atheist. It gives the lessons a cool dynamic.

So on Friday we have a devotional with 7 members of the Quorum of the 12. None of the First Presidency was there, but it was still awesome. The members there were Elder Nelson, Oaks, Ballard, Scott, Holland, Bednar, and Anderson. Elder Bednar spoke to us. It was awesome. He is one of my favorite members of the Quorum of the 12. He spoke to us about becoming “Preach my Gospel Missionaries.” The lesson was really great. We learned how to better teach and understand people as individuals. One of the big things we talk about here and in particularly in this talk was: Teach People not Lessons.

To my favorite people at the Academy: I think today (Monday the 27th of June) is R-day. If it isn’t today then it is next Monday. Either way, I wish you luck. I wish I could be there with you in this big day for 2013. I know you are going to be Awesome. I love getting your letters about school and your summers. Specifically to Cate: I am getting your letters. You mentioned in one that you didn’t know if they were working. They are! Good luck to all of you! Cori: I just got your email with a bunch of pictures! They are awesome! I haven’t gotten to read it yet, but I will love it.

 

Love,
auf Wiedersehn,
Peace,

Elder Austin Arthur Fullmer

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

